Chattered Institute of Transport Elects NIMASA Executive Director, Jamoh As President    

The Executive Director, Finance at the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA) Mr. Bashir Jamoh  has been elected as President and Chairman of Council of the Chartered Institute of Transport Administration of Nigeria (CIoTA) during its National Conference and Annual General Meeting which held last  week in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State.

By his election, Jamoh  replaces Prof Innocent Ogwude, who stepped down after five years at the helm of affairs of CIoTA.

Other National Executive Council members elected to pilot the affairs of the Institute include: Mr. Darlington Ofor and  Prof Callistus Ibe, as 1st and 2nd Deputy Presidents respectively; Dr Oluropo Owolabi, Vice President; Nnamdi Eronini, National Secretary; Pascal Obi, Asst Nat Sec; Mrs Ijeaku Onyewuego, Nat Treasurer; Mr. Sani Adamu Muazu, Nat Financial Sec; and Mr. Kenneth Ibiama, Nat Provost.

The convention also witnessed the conferment of the Institute's fellowship awards on  Ms. Hadiza Bala Usman, Managing Director of Nigeria Port Authority (NPA),  Mr Sotonye Inyeinengi-Etomi, former Ag. Executive Director NPA, Mr. Darlington Nnabugo Ofor, Mr Christopher Ucheobi, Engr. Oyekanmi Jacob, Alh Abdulssalam Gambo  and  Engr. Rotimi Fashakin (both Executive Directors in NIMASA), and many others.

The national conference had as its theme, "National Transport Commission and the Development of the Transport Industry". Delegates from NIMASA, Federal Universities of Technology Owerri, Akure, Minna, and the Universities of Lagos, Port Harcourt,  as well as from State chapters of CIoTA attended the 2-day event.