CIOTA Gets New Exco, Ratifies Council

 The Chartered Institute of Transport Administration of Nigeria (CIOTA) has ratified its Council for the Registration of Transportants (CORTRANS).

The National President, Dr Bashir Jamoh, disclosed this in a statement in Lagos on Tuesday while making public the result of its virtual elections held recently.

According to Jamoh, CIOTA had in June set up a five-man committee to organise a general meeting with the intent of ratifying members of its national working committees, CORTRANS and zonal chairmen/representatives.

He added that the committee was set up to conduct elections to fill up the executive positions that would be vacant in November, in line with the provisions of CIOTA Establishment Act, 2019.

According to him, the offices vied for are:  national secretary, assistant national secretary, national financial secretary, national treasurer, publicity secretary, auditor 1, 2 and 3, and  provost.

“The institute ratified the nomination of Prof. Innocent Chuka Ogwude as the Chairman, Council for the Registration of Transportants (CORTRANS).

“Members include Prof. Calistus Ibe, Prof. Samuel Odewumi, Mr Bala Zakka, Mr Osuala Emmanuel Nwagbara, Mr Matthew Akinlabi, Dr Taiwo Salaam, Mr Aluma Ogbonna (Admin), Mr Yakubu A Yakubu.

“Five sectorial development sub-committees covering the maritime, road, aviation, pipeline and rail were also put in place,” he said.

He said that Mr Chinda Ogbuji emerged the National Secretary while Dr Oluwaseyi Afolabi was elected the Assistant National Secretary and Mrs Chioma Azionu elected National Treasurer.

He added that Capt. Elei Green Igbogi, became the National Financial Secretary.

According to him, the others are Mrs Chizoba Anyika who was elected National Publicity Secretary and Mr Kenneth Ibiama who  emerged the National Provost.

“The post of the National Auditor 1 was won by Mr Patrick Erhinure, Mrs Stella Chukwunonyelu Faleye emerged National Auditor 2 while Mrs Ijeaku Onyewuego became National Auditor 3,” he said.

Jamoh said that out of the 877 eligible registered members of CIOTA, 475 were accredited, adding the 474 votes were cast while one voter was disqualified.

He said that seven national working committees were ratified to handle operations and planning, education and training, membership and social welfare, finance and accounts, media and publicity, disciplinary and legal advisory.

Jamoh said that the newly-elected national executives as well as the members of the council would be inaugurated at the institute’s annual general meeting to take place later.